Showing posts with label Florence Nightingale Awards. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Florence Nightingale Awards. Show all posts

Sunday, 18 May 2014

35 Best Nurses For the Year 2014-Florence Nightingale Awards

The President Confers the Florence Nightingale Awards to 35 Nurses 
Sh Ghulam Nabi Azad: Nurses form an Indispensable Part of the Healthcare System.

"Congratulating the awardees, the President said that they have distinguished themselves through their exceptional service and extraordinary dedication in the care of the sick and the infirm, and that they have brought credit to a vocation that is chosen by the most selfless and compassionate among us. In recognizing them, we pay tribute to the entire corps of nursing personnel in India, the President stated. He said that today nurses are the largest workforce in the healthcare industry in India. Nursing services and capacity building have expanded considerably since Independence and their roles and responsibilities have multiplied over the years, the President said. 

The theme selected by the International Council of Nurses, “Nurses: A force for change – A vital resource for health”, is quite appropriate, he said. The Council has rightly recommended that the nursing workforce in India can be an instrument of change - through better workforce planning, improvement in its education and work environment and through a constructive process of assessing and addressing the nursing workload, the President stated".

The list of awardees for 2014 is as follows:

1.      Ms. Daizy Thomas from Andhra Pradesh.
2.      Major General Sunita Kapoor from Army Head Quarters.
3.      Dr. Sudhamani Amma. S from Kerala.
4.      Ms. A. Gnana Laxmi from Hyderabad.
5.      Ms. Rafiqa Bashir from Jammu & Kashmir.
6.      Dr. Punitha Vijaya Ezhilarasu from Tamil Nadu.
7.      Dr. Sailaxmi Gandhi from Karnataka.
8.      Sister Saumya from Andhra Pradesh.
9.      Ms. Tapasi Pandit from Arunachal Pradesh.
10.  Ms. Annamma Varughese from Bihar.
11.  Ms. Kailash Radhid Masih from Chandigarh.
12.  Ms. Bhanumati Kantilal Popatani from Dadra & Nagar Haveli.
13.  Ms. Maria Conceicao Satos De Costa from Daman & Diu.
14.  Ms. Praveen F. Goravanakolla from Karnataka.
15.  Ms. Sharmila. K from Kerala.
16.  Ms. Chhaya Pramod Lad from Maharashtra.
17.  Ms. Yumnam Soroja Devi from Manipur.
18.  Ms. Lallungmuani from Mizoram.
19.  Mr. Baldev Singh from Rajasthan.
20.  Ms. Beula Indrani from Tamil Nadu.
21.  Ms. Suman R. Kashyap from New Delhi.
22.  Ms. Asha Khosla from New Delhi.
23.  Ms. Kamla Sharma from New Delhi.
24.  Ms. Buluma Saikia from Guwahati.
25.  Ms. Laxmi Rongkali from Uttarakhand.
26.  Ms. Gyati Jailang from Arunachal Pradesh.
27.  Ms. Runu Bharali from Assam.
28.  Ms. Martha Dodray from Bihar.
29.  Ms. Manjulaben Keshavbhai Patel from Dadra & Nagar Haveli.
30.  Ms. Vaishali Vilas Ruikar from Maharashtra.
31.  Ms. Elistina Marbaniang from Meghalaya.
32.  Ms. Padmabati Mehar from Odisha.
33.  Ms. Supriti Kana Mandal from West Bengal.
34.  Ms. Sunita Sharma from Chandigarh.
35.  Ms. L. Chongnu Kom from Manipur.

Source:Ministry of Health and Family Welfare-India.

Friday, 10 May 2013

Florence Nightingale Awards 12 May 2013 New Delhi

National Florence Nightingale Award was instituted by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India as a mark of recognition for the meritorious services of nurses. The award is given on 12th May every year. Altogether 237 nurses have been decorated with this award by Ministry of Health and Family Welfare since 1973. This year 35 Nurses will be awarded. Thus, the total number of nurses awarded including this year will be 272. 

These awards are given away by the Honourable President of India every year.

Florence Nightingale was born on 12th May in 1820 and is the founder of modern nursing. Hence this day is celebrated as International Nurses Day all over the world by the International Council of Nurses (ICN) from the year 1965 onwards.

The International Council of Nurses (ICN) commemorates this day each year with the production and distribution of educational and public information materials for use by nurses with a new theme.

This year, theme has been chosen as "Closing the Gap" the Millennium Development Goals number 4, 5 and 6; reduce child mortality, improve maternal health and Combat HIV / AIDS, malaria and other diseases. 

The award is given to the outstanding nursing personnel employed in Central, State/UTs. Nurses working in Government, Voluntary Organizations, Mission institutions and the private institutions can apply with the due recommendation of concerned State Government.

The Florence Nightingale Award carries Rs.50, 000/- cash, a certificate, a citation certificate and a Medal.

This year, the Florence Nightingale Awards will be given away by Shri Pranab Mukherjee, the Hon’ble President of India on Sunday, the 12 May 2013 at Durbar Hall, Rashtrapati Bhavan. A total of 35 Awardees from the Nursing Personnel belonging to various categories have been selected across the country from 21 States/ UTs and Central Institutions.